Listen //

Specifics //

Release Date: 31st of July, 2020
Catalogue Number: AT0097
Format: Digital

Information //

Electro thrash pop / gender expanse wave duo LE FOMO will rattle your guts with rawness and cradle you with their catchy riffs. They’re gender expansive, genre expansive, multi-instrumentalists Ess Nelson (vocals, lyrics, synths, bass, beats, arrangement) and Kai Hofius (guitar, drums, lyrics, bass), based in Oakland, CA.

LE FOMO’s debut album, Fear of Missing Out/No, was released on Wiener Records in 2014 and their single, Saganometrics, earned them recognition as The Deli Bay Area Artist of the Month, and is available on Spotify, iTunes, and Bandcamp, as well as in select tape shops across Berlin. They have also been featured on the Homoground podcast.

Having recently signed to UK independent label AnalogueTrash for their European distribution, the band is set to release new single NOTDF across Europe on the 31st of July 2020.

An electro disco punk nu wave hit, NOTDF takes listeners on a journey through a sweaty dance party (“Crop tops and gold lame / bootie shorts and Tanquerey”) with swooning lyrics, rich vocals, and beats that animate. NOTDF delivers a snarky message of liberation with a shift in perspective: from that of a nip.

“Who put me in this shirt? Let me out from under here!” Vocalist Ess Nelson belts with urgency and artful levity, a cocktail with the danceable power to flip the script with a wry smile and break open the societal constraints that keep us from living our most expansive, authentic, dignified and celebratory lives.

How did NOTDF come about? LE FOMO vocalist, Ess Nelson, was in mid-conversation when they spotted a free nip bouncing gloriously to the beat on the sunny back patio of El Rio, the beloved queer bar located in San Francisco’s Mission neighborhood. In a fit of inspiration, Ess proceeded to write the lyrics for NOTDF (Nip On The Dance Floor), later crafting the entire song during a short stay at a queer art/activist house in Berlin.

El Rio has catered to the queer community for years with events such as Mango, Swagger Like Us, the after-party for the TransMarch, Queeraoke, the queer music series, Hard French, and so much more, many of which serve the Black and Brown LGBTQ community. El Rio has been hard hit by the pandemic, so LE FOMO will be donating 50% of their Bandcamp revenue made from NOTDF downloads, and they have enabled a donation link via Spotify.

The track is accompanied by a high energy music video directed by Dani Aloi at Crystal Swamp Studios and produced by Ess Nelson, which received its world premiere via on-the-rise Q Review music blog. In this quarantined era of social transformation, NOTDF gives voice to our collective desires to be ‘let out,’ and the music video for NOTDF is an absurdist romp into the reimagined future past where nips hypnotize (nipnotize?) and David Bowie is holding your hand as you waltz into an electro queer Art Deco rendition of Wizard of Oz.

The European single release also includes an exclusive remix from AnalogueTrash label-mates St Lucifer.

Ess and Kai have been playing music together in various formations for ten years. Their diversified musical influences include Prince, Talking Heads, Elastica, Electrelane, Queen Latifah, Metallica, Queen, Devo, Herbie Hancock, Hank Levy, Led Zeppelin, Cyndi Lauper, Righeira, Le Tigre, Erase Errata, Karen O, Peaches, The Gossip, Gang of Four, Joy Division, La Femme, Leikeli47, and Janelle Monae.

They both live in the Bay Area, a transformative place on the planet that continually births and propels movements for racial justice and LGBTQ justice, both of which inform their music and the way they move through the world.

NOTDF is the band’s first single from their upcoming LP, Swallow Me Whole, which is due to be is released this September, taking you on a sweaty quest through a sunny afternoon electro dance party to a synthwave post-punk saturated basement to belting in your car to release your pent up anger about everything that’s gone awry in 2020. Two more singles – Tiny Anchor and Swallow Me Whole, the title track – are due for release over the summer.